The National Implementation Committee (NIC) has decided to undertake a major project in which a chronological anthology of Rabindranath Tagore’s works will be published. After completion the project will be known as Kalanukramik Rabindra Rachnavali. The anthology will be able to capture how Tagore worked on a day to day basis during his creative period and help us to connect with his artistic and other activities such as painting, dramatic performances, music, education and nation building. The completed work will provide an exhaustive record of textual variations in Tagore’s writings from the first inscription in draft form to the final revised version. It will also reveal the trajectory of Tagore’s mental and literary development.

Broad objectives of this project include:
(a) Collection of Rabindranath Tagore’s printed, reprinted, modified, and unpublished but authenticated writings;

(b) Preparation of a detailed editorial note elucidating the authenticity and historicity of each text, and its contexts;
(c) compilation of a full list of contents in decadal folders with a scanned image of the original published form so that the website version of the proposed anthology will have each of these details;
(d) consolidating the list with copies of actual writings by borrowing them from wherever original editions are available; and
(e) Taking decisions regarding inclusion of unsigned and anonymous as well as pseudonymous publications.

The major output will be a multi-volume print-anthology of Tagore’s entire works arranged chronologically with a web-version.


  • Chairman

    • Dr. U.R. Ananthamurthy
      Eminent Litterateur & Former President, Sahitya Akademi
  • Members

    • Prof. Shankha Ghosh
      Eminent Critic Poet, litterateur & Former Professor of Bengali Literature, Jadavpur University.
    • Prof. Anisuzzaman
      Eminent Critic, litterateur & Former Professor of Bengali Literature, Dhaka University.
    • Mr. William Radice
      Professor, School of Oriental & African Studies, University of London.
  • Member Secretary

    • Dr. (Ms.) T. Kumar
      Joint Secretary, Ministry of Culture.