A National Committee (NC) was constituted by the Government of India on 27th April, 2010 with the mandate to frame policies and lay down guidelines for the Commemoration of the 150th Birth Anniversary of Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore. The Committee is headed by Hon’ble Prime Minister of India Dr. Manmohan Singh. Notifications regarding the formation of National Committee (NC) have been issued on 27th April, 2010 followed by amendments dated 14th May, 2010 9th August, 2010 and 15th February, 2011.

The original texts can be viewed by clicking the following buttons.

The first meeting of the National Committee for Commemoration of 150th Birth Anniversary of Rabindranath Tagore chaired by Hon’ble Prime Minister of India Dr. Manmohan Singh, was held on 20th May, 2010.

The Committee observed that Rabindranath Tagore who received world wide acclaim for his literary work, was also a multi-faceted genius. He was a poet, author, composer, superb visual artist and a philosopher. The year of Commemoration should focus on these and also reflect on his complex and multilayered personality. The chairman said that the Commemoration year should be used to create cultural institutions and structures that honour the memory of the great poet. Also there is a need to translate more works by Tagore into different Indian and foreign languages.

The Committee noted Tagore's abiding interest in rural development and regeneration. A part of the Nobel Prize money was donated for the development of cooperative movement. His views on education needs to be highlighted. The joint celebration of the events by India and Bangladesh is to be explored. Indian Embassies in different countries are to be involved to regenerate interest in Tagore and to re-build historic cultural links that were established years ago by the poets’ travels to foreign countries.